String Bag III

20130706-134251.jpg

20130706-134301.jpg

20130706-134310.jpg

20130706-134322.jpg
This time I used Wendy Supreme cotton since I wanted to make a single colour bag. I chose it because of the competitive price to be honest, compared with other cottons in the shop it was very cheap. I like the DK thickness, the cottony soft feel and love this poppy red shade (1949.) It’s actually darker than it looks in the photos, it’s sunny and a lovely warm 26 deg here today. Ya hoo!

The bag pattern’s from Granny Chic by Tif Fussell and Rachelle Blondel (I’d say to borrow or look for a cheap secondhand copy, don’t pay full price….) and I adapted it slightly. Instead of 4 dcs into chain spaces I made 5 dcs and crocheted an extra round so I didn’t cut and reattach the cotton for the second set of handles. I reckon they’ll stand more of a chance of not loosening/falling off if I don’t have dodgy darns and joins. We’ll see! I repeated the main pattern for 32 rounds and it’s looks like a decent length, but no danger of dragging along the ground when full. Unless I’m carrying rocks. I must remember not to carry rocks.

Hope you are also having  a lovely weekend. What are you up to?

::: I meant to say that after all these string bags I now feel confident that I could make a fishing net someday!

13 thoughts on “String Bag III

    • I can show you how to crochet, although I’m a leftie so it would be interesting to have a go – assuming you’re a rightie. (Drop me a line with your contact details on my hello page form if you want to meet up – no fee!)

  1. I love your string bag – the more you make the more I want to have a go but I think I’m a bit overwhelmed a not sure I could make one. My crochet is usually limited to blankets x

I'd love to hear from you...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.